Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from the klutz!

I love the holidays.  The decorations, the music, coming home to see my family.  I wouldn’t miss it for the world – not even if I fell down the stairs and crunched my ankle.  (Yes, I did do that.  Yes, it hurts and the aircast is a pain in the butt, but at least I didn’t hit my head.)

I think I need a more interesting story than “I fell down the stairs.”  It just sounds sad and lame.  (HA!)  How about I fell off my dogsled?  Or I took up ski jumping?  Or maybe… I’m secretly a worldly super-spy and I was injured while chasing the bad guys?  I like that one.

So anyways – the holidays?  Fabtastic.  But tonight is New Year’s Eve and it’s time to start thinking about some resolutions.  Ones I will keep.  I swear.  Stop laughing.

But rather than big resolutions that are doomed to die, how about 6 little resolutions that will make me feel happy/better about myself?  I read somewhere that small resolutions are usually more successful…  So, here we go:

  1. Read more often.  And don’t buy more books until I’ve read everything on my Kobo eReader and all of my unread dead-tree books.  I’m not setting a minimum number of books per month – just read.  No pressure!
  2. Only knit from my stash.  I have WIPs waiting and lots of sock yarn – I really don’t need more.  I’d rather save my pennies for my springtime Disney cruise!
  3. Visit new places whenever the opportunity arises.  I am currently living in a gorgeous Territory and I’ve only seen a small piece of it.  I want to see more!
  4. Eat new and different foods.  Anyone who knows me, knows that I am a very picky eater.  Trying new things can be a bit of a leap for me.  So eating new foods is huge!  In 2010 I had a lovely friend introduce me to some great new food experiences and I want to continue with it.
  5. Keep skating – after my ankle heals, of course!  I love to ice skate.  It’s great exercise and really makes me feel wonderful and well, alive.  I usually skate as often as I can, and being unable to the last two weeks has been kind of brutal.  As soon as I safely can, I want to skate again!
  6. Write in my private journal everyday.  Even if it’s just one sentence.  This is a wonderful time in my life and it’s full of change.  I want to remember it!

There you go – 6 little resolutions.  Totally doable, and totally guaranteed to make me happy.  So… It’s your turn!

Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and all the best to you and yours!

Leave a comment