Up, Up and Away!

It’s been awhile! My new years resolutions are holding up – I’m exercising, writing and I’m more than halfway through my 50 book pledge. I really should just up my goal to 100 books!

Anyway – onwards! Time for a quickie book review.

Superman: The High-Flying History of America’s Most Enduring HeroΒ by Larry Tye, is an engaging, entertaining and surprisingly thorough read.

Supermancover

Tye covers it all – from Superman’s creation, right up to Snyder’s new film. But the evolution of the iconic superhero is secondary to the story of Siegel and Shuster, the Boy Scout’s creators.

Simply put, they had it rough. From struggling to launch their comic strip, to the fight to maintain control as Superman grew beyond their reach, it’s hard not to feel like they’d been given the short end of the stick. And yet, I can’t help but wonder if Superman would have become a culturalΒ phenomenon if they had maintained control. Perhaps a cruel question, but a valid one.

(To be honest, the idea of losing control of my life’s work actually makes me feel physically ill. I can’t even imagine what they had gone through.)

So check it out. I found it in hardcover at my local comic book store, but I’m betting it’s available in most book stores.

http://www.larrytye.com/

 

 

Leave a Reply

