It’s been too long…

Way too long – sorry everybody. For over two and a half months I fell off the blogging grid, but I swear, I have a good reason for it. It turns out that moving is hard. Who knew? Oh, I don’t mean the physical move itself; that actually went smoothly. It was more the mental and emotional part that drove me bonkers.

After living on my own for a couple years, coming back to a very full house of people was a bigger adjustment than I thought it would be. I had gotten so used to silence that the new reality of constant noise and activity was actually a bit jarring. I’m getting used to it now, thankfully. Being dependent again was also harder to deal with than I thought. I love my family. I’m thrilled to be home and blessed to have them as a support system, but I look forward to when I can afford my own place again. I definitely relate being able to afford living on my own to personal success and achievement, and knowing I can’t right now can be disheartening at times. The fact that the job hunt was slow and painful didn’t help.

So, in the midst of all this change and emotional lows, I found something that gave me hope. A fortune cookie. Don’t laugh. You in the back: please, stop laughing. The message was simple: You are a lover of words – someday you will write a book.

Holy crap. I wrote fiction when I was younger, and had always dreamed of seeing my work in print. It was like God had tapped me on the shoulder and said, “Hey Stupid – you have all this time on your hands – use it!” How could I ignore that?!?

Coincidentally, this happened at the beginning of November – fate is funny that way. So I signed up for NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month – where you have to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. I was a few days late, but I signed up anyway. And I’m so glad I did. Because I succeeded – I wrote a novel in one month. It needs some serious editing, which I don’t plan on starting until the new year, but it’s done!

Spending a month writing that much, becoming completely consumed by the story, reawakened my love for the craft. After finishing the novel, I didn’t want to stop – so I immediately wrote a short story. It has a Christmas theme and the editing is finally finished. I’ll be self-publishing it as an ebook in the next couple days.

I am so thrilled right now. After doing a lot of research, I realized that traditional publishing methods were really not for me. Indie publishing seems to be where the future of books is going, and I can’t wait to be an official part of it. I’ll be listing my ebooks(!) on Smashwords, who then sends it out to Barnes and Noble, Kobo, Sony and the Apple iBookstore. I wont be listing them on Amazon – I don’t agree with many of their business practices and I have no desire to affiliate myself with their methods. There will be a Kindle compatible file on Smashwords for Amazon users instead.

So – fingers crossed that everything goes smoothly. I’ll be updating this blog once the short story is published. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

