The unemployed pedestrian.

Yup, that’s me. This is the first time I have ever resigned without having another job or educational opportunity lined up. It’s… weird. I’m actually feeling quite unsettled because of it – I can’t seem to relax. I blame Western society’s obsession with work and our sad need for it to fulfill our greater purpose in life. It’s ingrained. I’m trying my best to unwind though, and I’m taking the next couple days to do the things I enjoy; exercise, hang out at Sbux with a good book, catch up on my knitting. Next week is going to be hectic and incredibly emotional, and right now I just don’t want to even think about it.

As for the pedestrian part… My car has been sold and I’ve spent the last two days walking all over town. It’s great exercise, considering I can’t get to the gym now. It was sad to see my car go. I was feeling rather self reflective as I emptied it of my personal belongings; CDs, my old Toronto map book, and the rosary hanging from my mirror. My grandmother hung that rosary in my car one day while I was driving her home for Sunday dinner. That was a long time ago. I really need to find a safe place to put it – it needs to hang in my next car. So, that’s it I guess. So long Sully, you were a great car!

One thought on “The unemployed pedestrian.

Leave a Reply

