Reading Stieg Larsson…

I’ve been hearing a lot of hype lately about Stieg Larsson and his ‘Millennium Series’; The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played With Fire, and The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest.  People are raving about it and they’ve all been made into movies.  So, I decided to see what all the fuss is about.  Honestly, I don’t get the hype.  They’re essentially political mysteries with some violence and sex thrown in.  They’re paced rather slow, and the mystery is really drawn out.  The lengthy delay just builds expectation for a huge reveal and the reality is actually a bit of a let down.  The third book was a bit better – I actually ‘lost’ myself in that one, but overall I’d say they were rather average.  I can’t see myself reading them again.  So, anyone out there who’s read them – what do you think?  Maybe I should check out the movies too…

Leave a Reply

