17 books in one month…

Overkill?  Maybe.  I’ve been reading a tonne lately.  Paperbacks, ebooks…  The summer just feels like a good time to read.  I’ve spent a lot of time recently reading on my balcony under the late night sun.  Getting a Kobo really kick started it – it’s so convenient to carry around and the screen is really easy to read.  E-Ink is great!

When the Kindle first came out, I thought it was a stupid idea.  I liked (and still do) the physical act of reading a paper book.  The smell, the texture of the pages… it’s more than just the act of reading itself.  I thought the Kindle cheated a person from that part of the experience, and so it would be harder to become engrossed in the book.  Well, I take it back.  I’ll never give up paper books, but my Kobo is also here to stay.  And I’m willing to recommend it to anyone who seems interested.

(Don’t worry – I am still knitting.  Just less, since it’s gotten warm out.)

3 thoughts on “17 books in one month…

  1. I’m unsure about how to comment on a stranger’s blog (other than don’t? :-D) so here goes:

    I’ve never heard of it, but Kobo sounds AWESOME! I’ve been thinking about getting an e-book reader for ages but I enjoy carrying around an actual novel too much. Of course, this gets irritating when I’m reading fifty (a somewhat exaggerated number!) books at a time. So I Googled Kobo and was ALMOST disappointed by my first discovery “Kobo is a Canadian based e-book reader.” More digging reveals that Kobo is also being sold here (which is also another country which has the city Sydney!) AND it comes preloaded with a hundred classic books.

    Now I just have worry about whether a Kobo could endure my heavy-handedness, e.g. tumbling around my bag and fighting my miscellaneous knick-knacks for survival! Cheers!

    1. The Kobo is awesome and although it started here in Canada, they are now selling them in the US, Australia and New Zealand. It’s pretty sturdy, but I wouldn’t throw it in a bag without a case – the screen has a glass layer. Unfortunately, all e-Ink screens are like that.

      Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

