No regrets.

A few weeks ago, I cancelled my cable.  And I don’t miss it.  Is that weird?  I just can’t justify the cost of the HD package and DVR when I only watch 3 shows a week.  3 shows that are available on the network websites a couple days after they air.  It turns out I’m not alone.  When I stopped at the cable company to hand in my DVR, the woman behind the counter said it’s actually really common for people to cancel their cable as the days get longer.  Now that we’re experiencing 15.5 hours of sunlight, there’s a lot more to do outside.  Makes perfect sense, really.  Television just can’t compare to exploring!

I’ve actually been reading a lot more since I unplugged.  This week I read two books, The Story of Edgar Sawtelle and Still Alice.  The first is a modern take on Hamlet and was a great read.  The second… was a bit harder to handle.

Still Alice is about a fifty-year-old woman diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s disease.  It’s told from her perspective, covering her illness from her occasional memory issues at work, to completely forgetting her children.  I had a really hard time reading this book, especially the first half, when she knows what’s wrong and feels powerless to stop it.  Her panic and sense of loss…  I had to put the book down a few times.  I’ve seen this disease from the outside, and even though it was emotionally tough to read, I feel that reading this book has really helped me understand the illness better.  I don’t know if I could read it again though…

2 thoughts on “No regrets.

  1. I bought Still Alice for Mom for Christmas, but decided not to give it to her because I figured it would be too difficult a book to read. I haven’t picked it up yet to read it myself, its still on my shelf. Think I should?

    1. I think it would be too hard on Mom – it’s too soon. I think you could handle it though. Just be ready – it’ll probably affect you…

Leave a Reply

