New Moon!

I went to see New Moon last night.  I had just come off a 12 hour shift and I was really tired, but I’ve been dying to see it.  It’s the first time I’ve seen a movie here, and it was quite the experience!  There are only two theatres in town, with two screens each.  New Moon is playing on only one screen, luckily near my apartment.  I went to the 9:35 show and was fighting for parking at 9:10.  The lot was tiny and I finally just ended up parking at the grocery store across the street.  When I got inside, it was wall to wall people.  The theatre was only showing New Moon and 2012, but most of the crowd was for New Moon.  There was one ticket seller and it took 20 minutes to pay.  That didn’t bother me – I found the whole experience to be kind of fascinating!  I’m still getting used to smaller town living, and the whole night was really different for me.  Buying food was impossible; the ticket line immediately turned into the line to get seats, with no room to move.  The place is small!  Again, it didn’t matter to me – I wasn’t buying anyway.  Once the theatre opened, the crowd actually filed in without a big rush for good seats, which was a relief.  It turns out there was a good reason for that.  The theatre is shaped kind of funny.  It’s not stadium seating, but rather the seats are all floor level, with just a barely noticeable curve up to the back.  But you don’t have to worry about the person in front blocking your view, because the screen is up high, near the ceiling.  So, everyone has to look up!  It’s not as uncomfortable as it sounds, and I totally forgot about it once the movie started.  I think it was sold out – the place was packed!  It was a good audience though – no annoying girly screams to be heard.

The movie itself was great, much better than the first one.  And I was really impressed with Taylor (the guy who played Jacob) – the kid can really act!  He showed great emotional range and made the movie that much better.

All in all, it was a good night.  Fell asleep almost as soon as I walked through my door, but it was worth it.

One thought on “New Moon!

  1. I saw it twice already! Without any crowds, in a downtown cinema in Knoxville, TN. The first time was Thanksgiving night (this past Thursday here) and the theater was almost empty. It was great. Then we went again the next day with family, it was only about a third full. I’m sure the theaters in the suburbs were way more crowded.

Leave a Reply

