It’s like riding a bike.

I’ve taken up ice skating again – and it’s been awhile.

Some of my earliest memories involve skating lessons on weekends and there was always at least one skating trip each year in elementary school.  I haven’t been since, and I think it’s going on 14 or 15 years since I went on the ice.  But how can I live in the Yukon and not skate?  It seems very wrong…

So, I got a pass for the Canada Games Centre.  That place is awesome.  It has a pool/hot tub/sauna/steam room/lazy river, NHL size ice, Olympic size ice, artificial turf field, basketball court, gym, indoor running track…  It’s huge.  I’ve started going to the gym and using the track and… I skate.

They have public skate time every day and I can’t believe how much fun it’s been.  There’s only a few people on the ice during the week, so I don’t have to worry about dodging screaming ankle biters.  It’s like riding a bike; you never really forget, but you are a bit wobbly for a bit!

Totally off topic, but I bought this at Walmart today.

Weird eh?  And even weirder, I dropped it on the ice in the parking lot and it bounced.  Twice!

One thought on “It’s like riding a bike.

Leave a Reply

