Wrist warmers. Again. Kind of.

Today I was asked for a pattern for Penny’s Horrible Wrist Warmers.  Truth is, I don’t really have a pattern, more like a bunch of math, and lots of annoying stripes.  I’ll try my best to explain how I made them.  They’re very simple, and most of it is based on how big the person’s hands are, and the knitter’s gauge with their chosen yarn.

I’ll use my sister’s pair as an example.  My gauge with the yarn used was 5 stitches per inch.  I measured around her knuckles with her hand open and relaxed, and got 7 inches.  7 x 5 = 35, so I should theoretically cast on 35 stitches.  However, the number of stitches should be in multiples of 4 (for the ribbing), so 35 stitches doesn’t work.  So… I rounded up to 36, which works out.

I knit this in the round.  The first inch or so was done in the main colour (grey), in knit 2, purl 2 ribbing.  Then I switched to the second colour (pink) for four rows of plain stockinette.  I alternated the colours every four rows for the stripes, until I was happy with the length.  In my case, 5 sets of pink/grey.  You can go longer, if you want them to go higher on your arms.

In the middle of the next row, I bound off 8 stitches and continued knitting as per pattern.  In the following row, when I reached the bound off stitches, I cast on the 8 stitches again, essentially creating a button hole.  I then continued knitting in pattern for one more set of stripes, or until one inch before I wanted the warmers to end.  I ended with an inch of knit 2, purl 2 ribbing in the original colour and bound off.  Repeat for the second one.

And that’s it!

One thought on “Wrist warmers. Again. Kind of.

Leave a Reply

