Pledge For Professional Nursing.

(Based on the original Florence Nightingale Pledge)

In full knowledge of the obligations I am undertaking, I promise to care for the sick with all the skill and the understanding I possess, without regard to race, creed, colour, politics, or social status, sparing no effort to preserve quality of life, alleviate suffering, and to promote health, as affirmed by the person.

I will respect at all times the dignity and beliefs of the patients under my care, holding in confidence all personal information entrusted to me, and refraining from any action which may endanger life or health.

I will endeavor to keep my professional knowledge and skill at the highest level, and to give loyal support and cooperation to all members of the health care team.

I will do my utmost to honour the International Code of Ethics applied to nursing, and to uphold the integrity of the profession.

Leave a Reply

