Beauty in dissonance.

Just got home from a fantastic night at the symphony. The stage was dominated by strings and brass – a personal favourite – and this series was filled with tension, drama and dissonance. I love dissonance. I was first exposed to it while playing the sax in my high school orchestra. Our teacher/conductor loved dissonance and had us perform a lot of pieces that featured it. But not everyone gets it. Dissonance feels wrong; it grates against the ear and can sound completely off key. But it’s also hauntingly beautiful. I only wish that more of the audience could appreciate it; I heard a few grumbles about it during intermission. Plebs.

Next month is the concert of bells – I can’t wait!

Posted in Fun

Leave a Reply

